DOES YOUR DIESEL TRUCK HAVE A GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT RATING GREATER THAN 10,000 POUNDS?
If yes, then the following applies to you.
Idling for more than 5 minutes is prohibited within California's borders
As of January 1, 2008 all trucks over 10,000 pounds, now including Sleeper Berth Trucks, will not be allowed to idle more than 5 minutes.
What are the violation penalties?
Fines start at $300 and can be as much as $1000 per day. Violators may also face criminal charges.
Are there situations where idling is allowed?
Yes, idling under the following situations is acceptable:
- You are stuck in traffic.
- When idling is necessary for inspecting or servicing your vehicle.
- You are operating a power take-off device.
- You cannot move because of adverse weather conditions or mechanical failure.
- You are queuing (must be beyond 100 feet from any residential area).
- Your truck’s engine meets the optional NOx idling emission standard and your truck is located beyond 100 feet from any residential area.
- Please visit www.arb.ca.gov/noidle for a complete list of exemptions.
If I can't idle, what can I do about cab comfort?
Here is a list of some available idle reduction technologies:
- Battery-Powered Auxiliary Power Systems
- Fuel-Fired Heaters (restrictions apply - visit www.arb.ca.gov/noidle for details)
- Diesel-Fueled Auxiliary Power Systems (restrictions apply - visit www.arb.ca.gov/noidle for details)
- Truck stop infrastructures that provide heating, cooling, electricity, and/or other services at various locations throughout California
- Visit www.arb.ca.gov/cabcomfort for information on these and other idle reduction technologies.
Are there restrictions that apply to idle reduction technology?
Yes, here are some restrictions that apply:
- You cannot operate a diesel-fueled auxiliary power system for more than 5 minutes if you are located within 100 ft of a residential area.
- Starting January 1, 2008, if your truck has a 2007 or newer engine, your diesel-fueled auxiliary power system or fuel-fired heater must meet additional equipment requirements.
- Please visit www.arb.ca.gov/noidle for more information.
Does my truck need a new label?
Starting January 1, 2008, a special hood label will be required if:
- Your truck has a 2007 or newer engine and you operate an engine-based auxiliary power system within California, or
- Your truck’s engine meets the optional NOx idling emission standard and you idle for more than 5 minutes within California.
Where can I get more information?
- Contact the California Air Resources Board at 1-800-END-SMOG (1-800-363-7664)
- Visit Our Program Webpage at: www.arb.ca.gov/noidle
*Other laws, regulations, and restrictions may apply. Nothing in this fact sheet or in the referenced regulation sections allows idling in excess of other applicable laws, regulations, and restrictions.